Historical Commission:

As allowed under MGL Ch. 40C, Salem has a “Historical Commission” to review application for exterior work being done in Salem’s four local historic districts. The Historical Commission is composed of seven members and two alternate members, appointed by the mayor, subject to confirmation by the city council. The four historic districts are Federal Street Area/Chestnut Street/McIntire District, Derby Street, Lafayette Street, and Washington Square. The map can be found here. Among other powers, the Historical Commission may also propose new historic districts to the City Council; cooperate with and advise the Planning Board, Redevelopment Authority, Public Works Department, and other city agencies in matters involving historic sites and buildings; and review and comment on any application for a demolition permit for any building or structure in the city which is listed or eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places, or which is located in an established historic district or which is 50 or more years old.